LeeBennettHopkins2017  This year's Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry Award winner is "Somos como las nubes/We Are Like The
  Clouds" written by Jorge Argueta.  The winner was selected by a panel of nationally recognized   
  teachers,  librarians, poets, and scholars.  MSMU's Carolyn Cook, Associate Professor of Education,
  was a member of the Award Committee.  The Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry Award, established in 1993
  by Penn State, is presented annually to an American poet or anthologist for the most outstanding new
  book of children's poetry published in the previous calendar year.  Judges also named an honor book this
  year--"Garvey's Choice" by Nikki Grimes. Check out these wonderful books.  Dr. Cook says of the
  experience, "Not only did I get to read 57 newly published books, but I got to know educators from all of
  the U.S."