Skip Navigation

Spotlight on Success

School of Education and Human Services
Date: May 2017

For the second year in a row, the Criminal Justice Student Assocation (CJSA) was named Club of the Year.The winner, selected by the Student Government Association (SGA), is a student organization whose active involvement on campus and in the community best represents the Universities' values and goals.  CJSA works hard each year to provide students with opportunities to enhance their professional and future careers.  Some of their campus events include the CSI Challenge, which invites universities from across the country to complete in an investigation simulation.  CJSA also works with the Frederick PAL Program and mentors at-risk youth in local commuities.
The CJSA's club advisor, Professor Joe Vince, was also named Advisor of the Year.  Professor Vince was recognized for his outstanding support, guidance, and devotion to a student organization.  Professor Vince has been the advisor to the CJSA for over five years and continues to help students become better leaders and members of the community.

This semester the Gamma Tau Chapter of Pi Lambda Theta (PLT) will be inducting its twenty-sixth class of members.  Pi Lambda Theta is an international honor society and professional organization in education that promotes scholarship.  Members of PLT are persons who are recognized for their superior scholastic achievement and high potential for professional leadership.  The following professors and students will be inducted into PLT throughout the semester, Elizabeth Boyle, Elizabeth Brennan, Karen Close, Peyton Courtney, Julia Crean, Mike DeProspo, Kennedy Funk, Joelle Grossnickle, Clarke Hooper, Derrick Kaas, Lesley Kessinger, Alexandra Kusznir, Leeanne Leary, Dr. Michelle Ohanian, Bernadette O'Keefe, Anne O'Neill, Emily Kurtyka, Dr. Barbara Marinak, Andrew McArdle, Madeline McGraw, Andrea Morgan, Isabel Ross, Dr. Ernest Sol;ar, Paige Spangler, Lisa Tosh, Brenda Weeks, and Brian Wolfe.  Congratulations to the newest members. 

Dr. Layton Field of the Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice delivered this year's SPARC Festival's Distinguished Faculty Address.  The address titled, "Where Have All the Babies Gone?  Fertility Declines & the Science of Population Research,"  explored Dr. Field's recent research into the decling fertility rates around the world.  The SPARC Festival also featured over fifty SEHS students who presented their senior projects during the honor sessions, poster presentations, and lightning talk sessions.  Sociology major Jonathan Beitzell, C'17, was awarded the Most Outstanding Poster Presentation for the School of Education and Human Services for his work on the "Relationships between Mental Health Treatment Outcomes and Gender Role Incongruence in Local Jails."  Jessica Huhn, C'17, was awarded the Most Outstanding Lightning Talk for her talk on "Graphic Support of Content: Using Graphic Organizers to Aid Paragraphing and Transitions." 

16300 Old Emmitsburg Road | Emmitsburg, MD 21727
Map & Directions | | 301-447-6122
Frederick Campus | 5350 Spectrum Drive | Frederick, MD 21703
Map & Directions | | 301-682-8315