Skip Navigation

Natural Science and Mathematics Blog

Date: Mar 6, 2014

One of the fastest growing career fields in the U.S. today is cyber security and the Departments of Sociology and Mathematics and Computer Science have developed a new interdisciplinary minor to capitalize on this trend. The new Minor in Cyber Security will launch in Fall 2014 and consists of 18 credit hours - 12 credit hours of Computer Science courses and 6 of Criminal Justice.

"We think this minor pairs well with majors from all three Schools and the College of the University," says Melanie Butler, Associate Professor and Chair of the Mathematics and Computer Science Department. "With the Cyber Security minor, students graduating from the Veritas Program, in a variety of majors, have the breadth of knowledge and skills that Cyber Security employers are looking for."

The need is great, according to the market intelligence firm GovWin, that reports "other areas of government spending will remain flat or decrease, but information security spending is expected to increase with over a 50% growth in the number of jobs and associated dollars over the next four years. This equates to defense and civilian federal agency spending rising from $9.2 billion in 2011 to $14 billion in 2016." Analysts earn median pay of about $75,000 a year, and more than 65,000 new jobs will be created by 2020, according to the U.S. Labor Department.

More information about the Minor in Cyber Security is coming soon!

Five Summer Research Internship Program (SRIP) awards were given to students for Summer 2014. This award allows students to work with a faculty member on a project during the summer months. Following the completion of their project, the student must present their research at the SPARC Festival the following academic year or at an off-campus conference. Students are also required to write a reflection on their summer research project, which will be submitted to the Dean. The following students received an award and they have been paired with a faculty mentor:

Dahyana Arias - Dr. Jen Staiger
Angel Gaona - Dr. Chris Bradley
Christiana Burke - Dr. Dana Ward
TJ Warshel - Dr. Katy Dye
Gregory Fultz - Dr. Dana Ward

This SRIP exists because of several generous benefactors who have made and continue to make donations to this distinctive program. These outstanding alumni, whose names are listed below, feel strongly about "giving back" to the University which blessed them so richly and they recognize the importance of the undergraduate research experience.

Dr. William P. Beierschmitt
Dr. John A. Bruno, Jr.
Dr. Lawrence E. Donato, Jr.
Dr. William R. Gaver
Dr. Daniel G. Muldoon
Mr. J. Anthony Rose
Dr. Mark S. Sobus, PhD, JD
Dr. and Mrs. William Ward, Jr.

16300 Old Emmitsburg Road | Emmitsburg, MD 21727
Map & Directions | | 301-447-6122
Frederick Campus | 5350 Spectrum Drive | Frederick, MD 21703
Map & Directions | | 301-682-8315