Skip Navigation

Spotlight on Success

School of Education and Human Services

FCRC2015  Six members of the Education Club recently participated in the Reading in the Mall event in
  Frederick, MD.  Along with ASL and Spanish interpreters, the students volunteered to read aloud
  at story time.  The event, sponsored by the Frederick County Reading Council, included a book
  giveaway and even a visit from students Taylor Maas, C'18, Alex Kusznir, C'19, and Maddie
  Monahan, C'19, dressed as Clifford the Big Red Dog!

Field2016Dr. Layton Field was awarded a Faculty Department Grant to produce a statistics manual.  Beginning this semester, Sociology and Criminal Justice students will be using the manual which provides detailed step-by-step instructions on using the complicated statistical software package R that they use for the course's lab component.  Some of the many advantages of teaching the R program include its wide acceptance in the academic and non-academic communities as well as the fact that it is free.  Dr. Field hopes that the manual will provide more individualized and enhanced experiences for the students.  Dr. Field shared, "The manual allows me to customize the text in a way that focuses on the skills we hope to develop using data and examples that are relevant to Sociology and Criminal Justice majors." 

SAfricaTrip2016  SEHS alumnae Pepper L. Bowins, C'00, and Laura E. Keilholtz, C'04, joined a team of educators from
  FCPS on a Damascus Road Community Church-sponsored trip to Tugela Ferry, South Africa.  Bowins and
  Keilholtz spent the week in Lobethal School where they taught Math lessons, hosted two fun days, and
  provided professional development to teachers.  The group provided 7 duffels filled with instructional
  materials to the school, and the PD focused on using the tools.  Keilholtz shared, "It was an amazing
  experience.  I learned a lot from the children and their teachers."

Waldron Scholarship winner Kelsey Kierce2015-2016

The School of Education and Human Services is proud to announce that Kelsey Kierce, C'16, has been awarded the Eugene & Julia Waldron Education Scholarship for the 2015-2016 school year. The Eugene & Julia Waldron Education Scholarship is awarded to a rising senior majoring in education and is awarded based on GPA, academic efforts, extracurricular activities and community service.


Kelsey is currently pursuing a bachelor of science degree in elementary and special education with minors in history and philosophy. Kelsey was selected to attend the Pembroke-King's Programme at Cambridge University this summer. Kelsey's other honors include memberships in Phi Sigman Tau International Honor Society in Philosophy, Pi Lambda Theta Education Honor Society, and Delta Epsilon Sigma National Catholic Honor Society. Congratulations Kelsey!


The School of Education and Human Services is proud to announce that Amanda Zawadski, C’17, has been awarded the Elizabeth DiNunzio Memorial Scholarship for the 2015-2016 school year. The Elizabeth DiNunzio Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a rising junior majoring in education based on financial need and academic merit, with preferences given to education students also studying Spanish.  Amanda is currently pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education with a minor in Spanish. She is also the recipient of other honors including membership in Pi Lambda Theta, Dean’s List, and the President’s Award. Along with her school activities, Amanda studied abroad at the Costa Rica Language Academy is San Jose in 2014. Congratulations Amanda!

16300 Old Emmitsburg Road | Emmitsburg, MD 21727
Map & Directions | | 301-447-6122
Frederick Campus | 5350 Spectrum Drive | Frederick, MD 21703
Map & Directions | | 301-682-8315